the birds and the bees

The Best Advice So Far - the birds and the bees / bird icon + bee icon

Let me tell you ‘bout
The birds and the bees
And the flowers and the trees.

Actually, they were bushes. Well, more like hedges and a possible shrub. But I digress.

In a recent post, I talked about noticing and enjoying anew the treasures already surrounding you, as if you were someone else from somewhere else seeing them for the very first time. That little exercise in focus and appreciation sparked a heightened awareness in me (funny how that happens); and in the days that followed, I had many moments where colors seemed more vibrant, smells more potent — even memories more vivid.

BEFORE YOU CONTINUE: I began this blog post on October 17, when the world up here in the Northeast was still green. It’s now the day after Christmas, and I’m continuing from an airport. At first, I thought it best to scrap this blog post with so much time having passed. Maybe I’d revisit it next year. But then it occurred to me that there’s something in the “sudden” passage of 10 weeks that speaks to the point I was trying to make all along: if we don’t remain intentional and vigilant, if we don’t make time for worthwhile moments to unfold in our lives, time keeps doing what it has always done. It passes.

Continue Reading at the New Site

About Erik

Erik is an author, speaker, blogger, facilitator, people lover, creative force, conversationalist, problem solver, chance-taker, noticer and lover of life. He lives in the Boston area. "It's more about writing lives than writing pages." View all posts by Erik

3 responses to “the birds and the bees

    • Erik

      Thank you for saying so! Were you able to follow the link and read the entire post on the new site?

      Liked by 1 person

      • shreyakhetan

        I read a few of your other posts through my wordpress app on my phone but when I clicked on the link at the end of every post , it didn’t lead me anywhere . I had to visit your blog via Chrome but it was totally worth it . This post piqued my interest – If you ever want to experience the true essence childhood, there’s nothing else like true curiosity that leads to finding the answers which you were seeking. Wonderful !
        I invite you to my blog in the same spirit , would love to hear your views .

        Like

Join the Discussion

